Reverence 2014

Sun, March 9, 2014, 7:30pm – 9:30pm

University Cultural Centre Hall
Tickets: $18/15

Lim Soon Lee, music director
Li Churen, piano


MENDELSSOHN – Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op. 90, “Italian”
SAINT-SAËNS – Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22
SMETANA – Ma Vlast: 2. Vltava (The Moldau)


Reverence 2014 is an annual concert held by NUSSO to mark the end of the academic year. The concert was well-received by audiences, and most of the tickets on the first floor were sold out.

In accordance to NUSSO’s usual repertoire line up, the orchestra chose Felix Mendelssohn’s Symphony No.4 in A major, Op 90, ‘Italian’ as the full symphony to showcase. Mendelssohn’s ‘Italian’ symphony is a piece consisting of the four movements: Allegro vivace, Andante con moto, Con moto moderato and Saltarello: Presto. The first movement kick starts with a joyful mood that moves into a slow second movement inspired by a solemn religious processions Mendelssohn witnessed. In the third movement, the tempo of the piece picks up and ushered the audience in to a leaping finale.

Next, the orchestra played Saint Saën’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, one of the composer’s most well-loved works. The audience thoroughly enjoyed the piano concerto and special thanks is given to Ms Li Churen, a third year student at Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music for collaborating with us. She is currently pursuing a BMus(Honours) and is a prize winner at multiple competitions such as clinching 1st prize at the 2011 Singapore National Piano and Violin Competition (Senior Category).

The last piece put up by NUSSO was Má Vlast by Bedřich Smetana. This piece consists of six movements, of which the orchestra chose to perform Vltava, the second movement. Má vlast is a nationalistic piece written to describe his sense of pride towards his country. In this movement, Smetana depicts a small river flow that increases in size as it flows through the country. The piece opens up with a flute soli and as it progresses, the music becomes richer and grander to symbolize the river’s movements.

Once again, NUSSO had a wonderful night with Maestro Lim Soon Lee who has been guiding the orchestra since 1994.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s